Asking out….

Finally the last in series of “How Nick n Rhys got together” . Since i had promised that i will tell how i asked out Nick, so here it goes…

Planning any event requires a few things. Like-

1. An appropriate environment/venue (it was Nick’s room in this case..:) )

2. To create an ambiance suitable to the event. (It was created by the background music i played )

3. To catch the person’s interest in the event. (I did that very well by blindfolding my Nick.. )

4. A special unique component. (It was dance in our case since he loves to dance.. lol .. 😛 )

5. And finally the moment of asking him out (For this, i wrote a poem for him)

As Nick had given me a warning that ‘proposal for being his boyfriend be good enough, or else he will reject it..lol.. 😛 ‘. So i started planning it in late December 2011.

I knew that i will going to ask Nick out in his room only. Next was to find some music. I found a song appropriate for the evening after searching for  2-3 long hours, all thanks to you-tube. It was “Can’t take my eyes off you- By Lady Antebellum”

I decided to write a poem for Nick, although i m a poet and have never ever written anything before. Still i had to make  it good, so i wrote a small poem for him. It took me around 1-2 hours for the poem, and subsequent changes in the poem took a lot of time for me.

Next was to create Nick’s interest into it and adding a special component to my proposal, so as to make it unique. I thought of stimulating all his senses except vision. 😛 So i decided to blindfold him and then make him dance on the song i had selected. Then by the end of song, i would place him at  a spot where a small placard would be kept saying “I Love You..” At the same time,  i would ask him to open his eyes when i will be on my knees.. 😉 Just at that moment i had decided to recite my poem to him..

But the reality is usually different from what we plan.. A few issues cropped up at the last moment, like i couldn’t find paint and any placard to write “i love you”. So instead i had to use the only available form of color i had  -SHOE POLISH.. 😀  I got an old cardboard from somewhere and wrote my 3 word message on it by a shoe polish. Following this, my preparation was done for the evening.

3rd January 2012- It was evening when i entered Nick’s room, where he was just lazying around in his bed. I asked him to be patient with me while i blindfolded him and my sweet Nick did as i said. Next, i placed the cardboard with my message at its spot, and played the music on laptop. I pulled Nick swiftly out of bed and into my arms, moving our feet together slowly to the tunes of song. I did a little bit of ballet, whatever i could manage to.. lol.. 😛 (I am a very bad dancer, unlike my dancer boyfy Nick..:) ). By the end of song and the ballet dance, i had deliberately brought Nick to that very spot where my cardboard was placed. I went down on my knees and asked him to open his eyes.

He saw me on my knees and also that placard/cardboard. I started reciting my poem. At first, he was just surprised and couldn’t speak a word till i finished my poem. (Till date i don’t know whether he was surprised ’cause of the preparation or the fact that i used a shoe polish  to write “i love you” on a waste cardboard..lol. 😛 ).

By the end when i had finished my poem, i waited for his reply. He just pulled me up towards himself and softly kissed me.. And said “Yes, my darling, I will be your BOYFRIEND.. 🙂 ”

And that’s how Nick and Rhys got together as boyfriends… 🙂

Love you Nick..

Rhys

Leave a Reply

