One Fine Day Posts , part 2

One fine day, when Rhys and I decided to take a friend of ours to a gay party ( his first ). It was to be our first big party in months, so we were all super psyched. So we dress up , pick up our friend who was supposed to be “studying at a friend’s place all night”  and got going.

Google turns up the most apt images at times !

Turns out the party was at the other end of town, so it was to be a looooong drive but we were all pumped and so time passed quickly. That is, until we came to the last traffic signal before we reach our destination. A car going across broke down right in front of us so we couldn’t move ahead and were stuck at the middle of the intersection as the lights changed and cars began heading  straight at us. Thankfully they veered right and left to avoid hitting us but no one stopped to help the poor guy with his broken down car until I finally got down and had to stop traffic by standing in front of the cars ( felt like the Tienanmen Square Tank Man but with a line of sedans instead ) and then helped push the broken down car out of the way so we could move on and the traffic cleared up! Good deed of the day – check !

We arrived at the party, paid up and entered. It was a beautiful garden restaurant styled on Santorini with beautiful white walls and pebbled walkways.  Rhys and I immediately headed for the nearest empty seats while our friend dragged himself along surely feeling stuck with a boring couple while he had many cute guys glancing over at him. It was quite a while before we realized that our friend must be terribly bored so we went out to the dance floor and tried to shake a leg but truth be told i just wanted to get back to my sofa with Rhys to lean on. But we played the good host and danced till our friend had his fill of hot sweaty bodies gyrating against him before we went out to enjoy the cool night breeze.

Doesn’t this seem better than a party ?! It does to me ……. Something wrong with that ?

So we sat on a bench and reminisced about the parties we used to attend and I realized that somehow I no longer enjoy going to these parties as much as I used to. I would much rather go to a cozy cafe and have a romantic dinner and then drive out for great cup of coffee than spend hours in these crowded, smoke filled rooms with the all too loud music and the smell of beer and sweat making me faint.  No longer do I enjoy the lustful eyes on me as I sway to the music with my arms around Rhys. Even the appreciative glances at pulling off a particularly low dip no longer gets me excited. I guess we have morphed into the cocooned couple!

Am i growing old ? or just growing up ?

Hmm, something to think about !

2 thoughts on “One Fine Day Posts , part 2

  1. “or just growing up ?” – my vote is just growing up : )

    “I would much rather go to a cozy cafe and have a romantic dinner and then drive out for great cup of coffee” – this can be just pure heaven. It’s different than the club / party scene – but very nice on a day to day basis.

    • That’s what Rhys says- that I am becoming a mature man …… but then i start tickling his feet and he realizes that I will never really “grow up” and will always remain a child at heart !!!

Leave a Reply

